Skip to content

Hidden truth 7: Rush – Show don’t tell

January 10, 2015

Another of my occasional forays into rock music, to discover a Christian message, whatever the writer meant.

Words are not enough on their own. Sometimes it’s all too easy to say the right thing. But as well as talking the talk, you need, as they say, to walk the walk.

Jesus spoke about a son who said he would go and work for his father in the field but then failed to turn up. His brother on the other hand refused to work but then put in a full shift.

Christians are very good at talking. We say lots of things most of which people around us do not understand. Sometimes we talk very loudly and seem to be very angry. We say that God is love but we come across as judgemental and irrelevant.

Not to say that we are not to speak out, but words in themselves are not enough. If we tell someone that God loves them then we need to find ways to show it.

If we say we are Christians then we should not be surprised if people watch us, to see if how we behave measures up to what we say we believe.

As the song hints, people around will judge us. The challenge is “show me don’t tell me!”

In his New Testament letter James says:

James 2:14-18 “What good is it, my brothers and sisters, if someone claims to have faith but has no deeds? Can such faith save them? Suppose a brother or a sister is without clothes and daily food. If one of you says to them, “Go in peace; keep warm and well fed,” but does nothing about their physical needs, what good is it? In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead. But someone will say, “You have faith; I have deeds.”Show me your faith without deeds, and I will show you my faith by my deeds. ”

So what are you and I doing to show our faith this week?

How many times do you hear it?
It goes on all day long
Everyone knows everything
And no one’s ever wrong
Until later…

Who can you believe?
It’s hard to play it safe
But apart from a few good friends
We don’t take anything on faith
Until later…

Show…don’t tell…

(Show me, don’t tell me)
You’ve figured out the score
(Show me, don’t tell me)
I’ve heard it all before
(Show me, don’t tell me)
I don’t care what you say
(Show me, don’t tell me)

You can twist perceptions
Reality won’t budge
You can raise objections
I will be the judge
And the jury

I’ll give it due reflection
Watching from the fence
Give the jury direction
Based on the evidence
I, the jury

(Show me, don’t tell me)
Hey, order in the court
(Show me, don’t tell me)
Let’s try to keep it short
(Show me, don’t tell me)
Enough of your demands
(Show me, don’t tell me)
Witness take the stand
(Show me, don’t tell me)

(Show me, don’t tell me)
Hey, order in the court
(Show me, don’t tell me)
Let’s try to keep it short
(Show me, don’t tell me)
I don’t care what you say
(Show me, don’t tell me)
Let’s see exhibit A

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

