Skip to content

More fire!

May 12, 2014

“Hold your fire
Keep it burning bright
Hold the flame ’til the dream ignites
A spirit with a vision
Is a dream with a mission” – Rush – Mission (from the album ‘Hold your fire’)

Acts 2:1-6

2 words on my mind at the moment.

The first is ‘more’ ( my last blog post). How I need more of what God has planned for me!

The other is ‘fire’. Now there’s a word that’s been with me for a while now. Last year I preached on prayer. The title ‘Fire’. This had leapt out at me as I read Psalm 5 in the Message. I was struck again, as I am from time to time, by the huge potential when we pray. As we lay the pieces of our lives on the altar each morning. Like Elijah we wait for the fire to descend.

My prayer life certainly isn’t very fiery. I literally blow hot and cold. Just lately I am attempting again to build a regular disciplined habit of prayer into my life. And I think that’s important. Surely that must be where we start. But at some point we have to expect the fire to fall. This is almighty God we are dealing with here after all.

Mundane doesn’t come into it. Does it?

Fiery preaching. What do I, or what does anyone else for that matter, expect when the word of God is preached (or blogged?)? Is it just an academic exercise, a lecture? Oh I hope not! So often I know it is, but then again I long for the fire.

And then I read of the fire of the Holy Spirit which fell upon the early Christians. And I remind myself that the Holy Spirit who Indwells the Christian of today is the same one who dwelt in the life of the first followers of the Way 2000 years ago.

There is potential where God is. There is anointing to be had. Not a cold dryness.

When the Holy Spirit fell upon those early disciples the effect was electric. Physical manifestations suggested to passers by that these people were drunk, but they were under the influence of something else (actually some ONE else) altogether.

The most striking thing about the coming of the Holy Spirit at Pentecost was that the multinational crowds heard the gospel of Jesus in their own languages. Don’t we need that today? To speak in a way which is both powerful and relevant to those around us?

So I am praying for more. Praying for fire. Praying for those around me. Join with me.

From → Christianity

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

