Skip to content

Hidden truth 5: Made Again by Marillion

January 2, 2014

Another in the occasional series on songs which speak to me on a spiritual level, even if the writer never intended anything of the sort. Listener’s prerogative.

Here we are on 2 January 2014 and hopefully it’s not too late to wish you a happy New Year! Actually though it has long been a view of mine that I am not at all sure that God is too bothered about New Year. Apart from the problems of time differences, I cannot see the angels around the throne in heaven counting down the minutes to midnight and linking wings to sing ‘Auld Lang Sine’.

What I do hold onto though, is that God is very interested in new beginnings. That is something that gets the partying going in heaven.

To begin again. To be made again. To see everything with new eyes. That is where this beautiful love song comes in.

It is of course true that a new relationship, a new love can transform us and our whole outlook on life. If that can be true of human relationships then how much more must a relationship with God the creator, with Jesus the saviour, with God the Holy Spirit be gobsmackingly revolutionary!

Old places become new. People are viewed differently. Eyes are opened. As another song says ‘was blind but now I see’.

False becomes true.

The transformation Jesus brings to a life is complete – inside and out.

A new day dawns. Time to wake up from the dream.

I have been here many times before
In a life I used to live
But I have never seen these streets so fresh
Washed with morning rain
I have seen this face a thousand times
Every morning of my life
But I never saw these eyes so clear
Free of doubt and pain

Like the whole world has been made again

And it’s all because you made me see
What is false and what is true
Like the inside and the outside of me
Is being made again by you

And it’s all because you made me see
What is false and what is true
Like the inside and the outside of me
Has been made again by you

Like a bright new morning
Like a bright new day
I woke up from a deep sleep
I woke up from a bad dream

To a brand new morning
To a brand new day
Like the whole world has been made again

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

