Skip to content

John’s gospel post 39: Disguise

November 18, 2013

“The place where I come from is a small town 
They think so small, they use small words 
But not me, I’m smarter than that, 
I worked it out 
I’ll be stretching my mouth to let those big words come right out 
I’ve had enough, I’m getting out 
To the city, the big big city 
I’ll be a big noise with all the big boys, so much stuff I will own 
And I will pray to a big god, as I kneel in the big church” – Peter Gabriel – Big Time (from the album “So”)

John 7: 1 – 13

It’s been too long between chapters 6 and 7.

After being slightly worn out by all that talk of eating flesh and drinking blood. What next?

Maybe time for the marketing gurus to get hold of Jesus’ career and put it on a different level. 

Hardly! Jesus avoids Judea because the strength of feeling is now such that the Jewish leaders are planning to kill him! Good reason not to go there then!

But the disciples have another plan. Jesus is too much of a secret. He needs some serious exposure. Lets go to another festival. Join the crowds.Let everyone see your stuff!

We are now introduced to some other people. We have met Jesus’ mother at the miracle wedding. She believed in her son and acted on it.

By contrast Jesus’ brothers do not believe in him. There’s is a taunt. “If you have really got the X factor, get yourself to the audience auditions!”

Jesus says “It’s not time”. He tells them that people hate him because he speaks the truth about evil. “You go and have a good time”.

So his brothers set off. Surprisingly, so does Jesus – in disguise. The Jewish leaders were there of course and they were looking for Jesus.

Even if he wasn’t there people talked about him.

“He’s a good man”.

“No he’s a liar”.

Is there nothing in between when it comes to Jesus?

Jesus divides opinion. Then and now.

 

From → Christianity

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

