Skip to content

Hidden truth 2; If I ever lose my faith in you by Sting

October 28, 2013

The is a song about faith right? So there’s got to be some “hidden truth” in there somewhere.

Trouble is – If I’m looking to turn this into a song with a Christian message, am I pushing it when in the second line Sting sings that he has lost faith in the holy church.

The thing is though that the church should never be the object of our faith. The only proper focus for faith is Jesus.

And so as I listen to this song, whoever Sting wrote the song about, when he sings you, you = Jesus.

Thus as he sings  through a catalogue of disappointment, there is one object of faith. One thing that he holds on to. If he lost that he would have nothing.

Science and progress.

People on TV.

Politicians.

War.

Oh and yes the holy church.

If we put our faith in any of these things, then we will ultimately be let down. Even Jesus own church has let this world down time and again. And maybe it has let you and me down as well.

We can be lost in these lies that we hear, but there as we close our eyes, is Jesus face. Now there is a face we can trust.

 

You could say I lost my faith in science and progress
You could say I lost my belief in the holy church
You could say I lost my sense of direction
You could say all of this and worse but

If I ever lose my faith in you
There’d be nothing left for me to do

Some would say I was a lost man in a lost world
You could say I lost my faith in the people on TV
You could say I’d lost my belief in our politicians
They all seemed like game show hosts to me

If I ever lose my faith in you
There’d be nothing left for me to do

I could be lost inside their lies without a trace
But every time I close my eyes I see your face

I never saw no miracle of science
That didn’t go from a blessing to a curse
I never saw no military solution
That didn’t always end up as something worse but
Let me say this first

If I ever lose my faith in you
There’d be nothing left for me to do

2 Comments
  1. It’s not really a song about faith per se. It’s more about the importance of love. The character who’s singing is explaining that for him, being able to trust and rely on the person he loves most trumps any other kind of faith. You can read Jesus into it, but I doubt Sting (who is himself agnostic) intended that. However, good songs can be read more than one way. It works to put whoever you love into it.

    • Of course you’re right. I know Sting meant nothing of the sort. I enjoy the fact though that so many songs can be open to a completely different interpretation

Leave a Reply

