Skip to content

Hidden Truth 1 – Afterglow by Genesis

October 24, 2013

Love my rock music – music floats my boat. Give me music any time over TV – unless there’s great music on the telly!

My faith needs to permeate everything I do, but certainly does not mean that I only listen to music if the lyrics match my own particular belief system. I need to be reminded of how others see the world. And I need to be challenged sometimes too. 

For me too musicians of the highest calibre transport me to the heights.

But often I find God in unexpected places. Where the writer has had something quite different in mind, I find worship, I find truth. I call this hidden truth.

Afterglow by Genesis (Wind & Wuthering) has always been one of those songs. It becomes a worship song. A song about emptiness, longing and ultimate fulfilment in only one person – Jesus.

In amongst the emptiness of the opening words, is a desire to search – to “hear your call”.  To have a calling on your life. When life and friends and family and neighbours let me down, there is that longing in me to hear God’s call on my life. There is a sense, all too rare I admit when it seems it would be worth anything to hear God’s voice and know his direction. To walk in a different world, where all I believe is totally real.

Life can be meaningless, and yet in Jesus I find ultimate meaning. Thus I say “I give to you my soul”. It is a fair exchange to give all that I am to receive God’s grace and leading. Jesus challenges me that it is no good for me to gain the whole world but lose my soul.

What I believed before pales into insignificance beside the reality of Jesus. Of course I often get it wrong, and lose my focus, but sometimes when I sing this song, it is a worship song, sung to Jesus.

Like the dust that settles all around me,
I must find a new home.
The ways and holes that used to give me shelter,
Are all as one to me now.
But i, I would search everywhere
Just to hear your call,
And walk upon stranger roads than this one
In a world I used to know before.
I miss you more.

Than the sun reflecting off my pillow,
Bringing the warmth of new life.
And the sounds that echoed all around me,
I caught a glimpse of in the night.
But now, now I’ve lost everything,
I give to you my soul.
The meaning of all that I believed before
Escapes me in this world of none, no thing, no one.

And I would search everywhere
Just to hear your call,
And walk upon stranger roads than this one
In a world I used to know before.
For now I’ve lost everything,
I give to you my soul.
The meaning of all that I believed before
Escapes me in this world of none,
I miss you more.

Leave a Reply

