Skip to content

News of the world?

July 12, 2013

“My mouth is filled with God’s praise. Let everything living bless him, bless his holy name from now to eternity” – King David (Psalm 145:21)

Carried on reading through the Psalms and yesterday I came to no 145 (nearly there!). I was pleased to see that it was one of those rousing numbers – “I lift you high in praise, my God. Oh my king!” I thought I’m going to enjoy this. Through “God is magnificent – he can never be praised enough”.

So I was a little surprised that as I read on, I found that some of the words jarred with me and as the words of David continued I found myself saying “you what??!!”

Take some of these phrases:

“Your beauty and splendour have everyone talking”

“Your marvellous doings are headline news”

“Your righteousness is on everybody’s lips”

Really? Honestly? Are you serious?

When did you last hear the office abuzz with the beauty of God?

When were God’s marvellous doings headline news? I mean when was God even in the news? Just had a look at the BBC website. He’s not there. There are some tragedies – maybe God has been mentioned by people there – “where was he?” Acts of terrorism – often over matters of religion. God gets a look in then?

And his people – perhaps they get a mention, when they quarrel, when they seem to be outdated in their views on women bishops or gay marriage. People will talk about the Church then.

But never God. Never Jesus.

God’s righteousness on everyone’s lips. No – recently Wimbledon was on a lot of people’s lips, but not the goodness of God!

Yes God is great. Yes God is good. Yes his creation is wonderful an he deserves my praise. I’ll go with that – as will many others, but the whole world? Is David just exaggerating to make a point?

Could it be actually as Christians it is our responsibility to do something about this?

If we are quiet and don’t talk about the greatness of God, will anyone else?

Are we lights in the world?

Do we have a voice?

Or do we just speak out to condemn, or to talk about religious issues of the day?

How will the world hear about God’s greatness if we don’t tell them?

Are these verses a picture of what could be? Do we need to pray big prayers?

Isaiah prayed a big prayer that stirs something in me when I read it:

“Oh that you would rip open the heavens and descend, make the mountains shudder in your presence” (Isaiah 64:1)

I’d like God’s acts to be more visible. I’d like people who say that God is a delusion to be confronted by God, so they cannot deny. I mean isn’t that what Elijah did to the prophets of Baal”?

We can’t change the world by positive thinking, but what can we do with big prayers?

Tell me what you think.

 

From → Christianity

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

