Skip to content

Mountain

June 28, 2013

“Those who trust in God are like Zion Mountain: Nothing can move it, a rock solid mountain” Psalm 125:1 MSG

As I look from my window each morning I can see some hills, would be an exaggeration to say mountains, but it’s an inspiring sight. It can be great to see the enormity of a mountain or better still to sit at the top and see the views on every side.

Sometimes people gave the mountain a place it was never meant to have. Jesus was asked, “do we need to go to the mountain to worship God?” His disciples wanted to stay on the mount of transfiguration and worship.

But Jesus reminded us that true worship can happen wherever we are.

In Psalm 121, the writer asks, “I look up to the mountains; does my strength come from the mountains?” Do I draw strength and inspiration? Well maybe I do but it’s not because of the mountain.

It’s because I know the one who made the mountain. I worship the one who made mountains, everything I can see, and the earth and even the heavens I can’t see. That is the majesty of the God I follow. The mountain acts as a reminder of his greatness. Oh yeah and he made me too – and loves me small as I am.

Oh and of course there was a mountain, where the Son of God died for me. My strength, even my whole life flows from that place!

From → Christianity

One Comment
  1. I look out of my window each morning and see Twm Barlwm, which is not a very big mountain, but it’s such a familiar view now, with it’s ‘pimple’ clear against the skyline.

    I love to walk in the Black mountains and the Beacons and I agree with you that their strriking majesty reminds us of God’s character.

Leave a Reply

